Always Wear Sunscreen

Column: Finding the Good
by Caitlin Ludwig

Tis the season of cakes with unseemly gobs of frosting, square hats and long goodbyes.  It’s graduation time!!  This past Sunday, I attended my brother’s graduation ceremony from Coe College.  It was a beautiful day and the ceremony was outside which made the two hour ceremony much more enjoyable…. except for one small problem: I forgot to wear sunscreen.

Now this is completely ironic to me.  Graduation always reminds me of a little “song” that was popular during my middle school years: “Everyone’s Free To Wear Sunscreen” by Baz Luhrmann.  The speech was to the Class of ’99 but somehow is still completely relevant over a decade later.  The piece starts out with very simple advice: Always wear sunscreen.

If you’ve never heard the song or it’s been a good 10 years since the last time you heard it, I encourage you to take another listen.  Perhaps every May should be honored by a quick listen to Luhrmann’s timeless words.

As I drove home with my parents from Coe College in Cedar Rapids, IA, I could feel the burn on my neck beginning to hurt.  If only I had listened to Baz’s words of wisdom, I not only would be assured that no matter how fat I think I look, how crazed I am about life and how worried I am about the future it’s all perfectly normal and completely unnecessary and I wouldn’t be suffering from a burn every time I turn my head.

For those graduating this year, I wish you well.  Graduating is a bittersweet time because graduating, no matter from what, means change and change can be difficult.

For those who aren’t graduating, take a quick listen to Baz’s words of wisdom.  It’s a good refresher on life lessons that sometimes we forget.

So no matter who you are, take a listen.   I promise you, it will be a great 5 minutes and 29 seconds of your day.

-Caitlin

~ by caitlinludwig on May 10, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
