A Little Carbs and Cardio

Column: Live It Up
by Karissa Kienast

Forget this cold, rainy weather we have been having…I am ready for the weekend! And how do you forget about this terrible weather and focus on summer? By checking out one of my new favorite places to eat in Rockford and working out for a cause of course! And maybe a little bit of my favorite sport, but more on that later!

If you are out this weekend and looking for a place to eat, I recommend going to Capri Restaurant in Downtown Rockford. I ate here for the first time this week and was very impressed with the food and service. I went with a group from work and we had around 17 people, but our food was served quickly and they were willing to do separate checks, something a lot of restaurants downtown won’t do. The food portions were huge and everyone was very happy with what they ordered. I tried the lunch combo and was pretty happy. For $6.50, you can pick two options from their menu, including a half order of different pastas, salads, garlic and garlic cheese bread, soup, and French fries. I chose a half order of meat ravioli and a half order of their garlic cheese bread. They first brought me out the garlic cheese bread, and I thought they had misunderstood my order. On my plate was two half loaves…a HUGE serving. When they brought out the ravioli though, it came in a small bowl. While I wish they would have given more ravioli and a little less cheese bread, both were delicious. I can’t wait to go back and see what a full order of garlic cheese bread looks like. Other favorites of our group were the Italian Beef Sandwich (most people had to take home half of the sandwich) and the pizza. Capri is open for lunch Monday-Friday from 11:30 a.m. to 1:30 p.m. and re-opens for dinner from 4:30 to 10 p.m. On Friday and Saturday they are open from 4:30 to 11:00 p.m. and on Sunday’s from 4:30 to 9:00 p.m. Their website says reservations recommended, but our large group had no problem and there were a lot of open booths during the lunch hour. They are located at 313 East State Street, but the entrance and parking lot is in the back of the building. If you take State to Madison, the parking lot will be on your left. For more info, visit http://caprirockford.com.

For those looking to get ready for summer and get that bikini body, head out to Peak Sports Club on Saturday, April 23 for their Fit Fest 2011. This is the event where they introduce their new classes, and they make it a big event! It costs $10, but 100% of that fee is going to help people in Japan. When you pay the fee you get a wrist band, so you can go grab lunch or come back for later classes if you don’t want to stay. You can do 1 class, 4 classes, or all 7 classes…it’s up to you! You DO NOT have to be a Peak member, so it’s a great way to check out the club and spend the day getting fit. Along with the classes, they are going to have over 20 health and fitness vendors, a sumo wrestling demo, an Easter egg hunt (which I have been told adults can participate in as well!), and the Easter Bunny will be there.

Classes and times are:

  • 7:00 a.m. – RPM, Must sign-up at Peak desk
  • 8:00 a.m. – BodyPump
  • 9:15 a.m. – BodyFlow
  • 10:30 a.m. – BodyAttack
  • 11:45 a.m. – RPM, Must sign-up at Peak desk
  • 11:45 a.m. – BodyVive
  • 1:00 p.m. – BodyJam
  • 2:15 p.m. – BodyCombat

If you want to learn more about the classes, you can check out the descriptions on Peak’s website. RPM is a new class, so the description isn’t up yet. This is an indoor cycling workout where you ride to the rhythm of powerful music. So no more excuses people! Here is your chance to work out, have fun, and help the people of Japan!

And while a lot of fun things happen in Rockford, there are also some great events and attractions that are only a few hours away. And a great thing about Rockford is that it is located next to a major interstate that allows you to get to the suburbs or up to Milwaukee in just a few hours. So not only can we have fun in Rockford, we can easily enjoy the events happening around us.

I bring this up because I am taking advantage of our location and heading into the suburbs this weekend. While Rockford is a big city, it isn’t quite big enough to have teams for all of the sports I love. But that’s okay, because a quick drive east takes me to Toyota Park, home of the Chicago Fire. Now I realize some of you may be going “Chicago who?”…and that is okay. Growing up I played soccer year round and still have a huge love for the game. And lucky for me, Major League Soccer (MLS is to soccer as MLB is to baseball and NBA is to basketball) has an awesome team right here in Illinois. So this Saturday I will be bundling up, grabbing my vuvuzela (just kidding), and heading to see the Chicago Fire take on the Huston Dynamo. I’m really excited because this will be the first MLS game I get to see live. And I get to enjoy my first game on the party deck, which is right behind the goal and includes a free beer! The season has just started and there are a lot of opportunities to go see a game. For more information on the team and tickets, check out https://www.chicago-fire.com/.

Any of you doing something fun this weekend? Let me know! And if you go to Fit Fest or Capri, let me know what you think.

~ by Karissa on April 21, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
