Important Questions

Column: Finding the Good
by Caitlin Ludwig

There are times during my day where I drift off and ponder some of life’s more challenging questions.  You know, when I’ve got spare time I just start to think.  Maybe I’m driving, in the shower, getting ready to fall asleep – whenever.   I’m assuming other people do this too.  Today, I’ve decided to write down some of the questions that really trip my trigger and see if perhaps any of you faithful readers (or people who just happened to stumble across this blog) happen to have any insight, answers or irks of your own.

Caitlin’s List of REALLY Important Questions:

1. How is it possible that we can build a rocket that will leave the earth’s atmosphere, land on the moon, build a suit that let’s a person hop around on said moon and then get back in the rocket and return back to earth; harness electricity from wind; clone a sheep and create Facebook but we can’t seem to figure out how to make a decent strapless bra?  I mean, seriously.  There has yet to be a strapless bra that actually does it’s job.  We can build a bridge that supports rush hour traffic but trying to form a piece of fabric that holds up the girls without the aid of straps??  Apparently, impossible.

2. Who decided that a 9-5 workday would be considered the norm?  And why did everyone seem to think that was a good idea?  Wouldn’t everyone be more in favor of 10-3?  11-2?  Heck, even 10-4!!  Who decided 40 hours was going to be the standard (and in a lot of cases the minimum for us on salary…) workday and who agreed with him??

3. When did society switch from loving a girl with a little meat on her bones to being obsessed with being thin??  In caveman days, being a woman who had hips was totally caveman-sexy.  After all, how could the little skinny ones have numerous kids??  Having some meat on your bones also used to be a social status.  Have some curves meant you could afford to eat and eat well.  Being scrawny just proved you were poor.  So, when did we switch??  Now being a twig is cool.  Can we switch back, please??  I’m pretty sure everyone would be happier….  except supermodels….

4. Who was the first person to try any sort of massive surgery and, even more important, who was the first fool that said, “Sure!!  Try it on me!!”????

5. How did “clapping” come to be in vogue?  I mean, really it’s an odd concept if you stop to think about it.  Banging your hands together as loudly and as quickly as you possibly can to tell some on they did a great job.  Why aren’t we clapping with our feet?

6. When will the 80s stop coming back in style?  And, even more important, when do poodle skirts get to be cool again?

7. Who came up with PB&J, Chocolate Chip Cookies, mac & cheese or ice cream??  Who ever it was, you deserve a big time thanks!  I mean, you’re one of the main reasons Americans are fat, but eh.  Oh well.

8. Where did the tie come from and what real purpose does it serve other than looking cool?

9. How is it that I never ever win the lottery or even come close but somehow the odds of hitting a deer are like 5-1 even though they have the ENTIRE world to roam?  I mean seriously, how is that the odds line up just so that the deer and I are in the exact same spot at the exact same time FREQUENTLY?

10. How does anybody manage to fall in love?  I mean seriously, try getting two people to agree on more than like 5 things and it’s pretty difficult.  But for some reason finding billions of people who are willing to sign up to spend a life time together is actually quite easy.  And even more so, we expect to find it!  The odds seems rather low, but somehow it works.  That’s a thinker…

11. Why haven’t we made the day after the Superbowl a national holiday??  Or why haven’t we moved up game time to, say, perhaps noon??

12. Why is prostitution illegal??  I mean, I’m not interested in participating but I haven’t really figured out why we outlawed the act of selling sex for money.  Morally, I’m against it.  But I’m against other things that are still perfectly legal and it seems to me that if someone wants to take that route, who are we to stop them?  Let’s tax that service… there’s an economy booster!  I’m sure there are reasons to not legalize it and I’m not claiming to have researched the subject or necessarily of even being in favor of it.  I’m just curious why it’s illegal….

13.  And last, but not least… Where HAVE all the cowboys gone??

So, that’s my list.  These are the things that keep me up at night, entertained while stuck in traffic and make me scratch my head.  Some are lighthearted, others a bit heavier.  But nonetheless, they are all questions I have…

So… anyone got any answers??

-Caitlin

~ by caitlinludwig on April 19, 2011.

5 Responses to “Important Questions”

  1. I don’t have answers. Only more questions. ARGH!

  2. Okay, you know me and I can’t resist. 40 hour work week? Result of child labor laws and the advent of unions…wasn’t too long ago it was 6 days a week, and you can thank religion that we even had one day off.
    I don’t know how clapping became the norm, but it’s a cultural thing. Germans used to (and maybe still do, not up on my current German culture) knock on the desk or hardest object around them.
    Still don’t understand the bra thing…perhaps gravity is just too much? 😉 You could always rock the boustier (?).

  3. Oh good! I’m not the only one who wonders about the prostituion question!! I would agree that it is one of those illegal things that, by taxing it, could do one of two things. It might reduce the frequency or make this country alot of money! 🙂 If people are willing to participate, why not take their money, right?! And like so many other things in life, there is a requirement of talent that has to be involved or you won’t make too much money…and maybe there are some out there that, and good for them if it is true, that might be the talent in which they were given. Why not use it right?! 😉

    • I’m with you, Liz!! There could be some really talented people out there that this is their way to make a livelihood. Now, that’s really sad in some ways but if we made it more of a structured business and less of a shameful act, maybe it wouldn’t be so sad?? Maybe it still would be…. But perhaps people would be smarter about it and we can profit from it. Just a thought…. I’m sure there’s some really good reasons not to legalize it but it seems like if people are already doing it, might as well figure out a way to make it safe and profit from it. After all, Vegas does it…. and nothing bad ever happens in Vegas. 🙂

  4. You guys should watch the TV series “Firefly”. In that universe, prostitution is not only legal, but also a revered career. It’s a very interesting spin on the idea (and the show is fantastic as well).

    It’s also interesting that you bring up the 40-hour work week. I used to work for a company here in town that was based in South Africa and Germany. Imagine trying to communicate with coworkers who not only lived on the other side of the globe in a different time zone, but also had holiday’s what seemed like every other week. Not only that, but part of their culture shuts down the work week at noon on Friday’s as a standard. Evidently, that is when everyone does their shopping. Since they don’t have Wal-Mart’s who have everything, shopping is an all-day task requiring you to stop at the butcher, the baker (and the candlestick maker, apparently), the fruit/vegetable vendor and whatever other items you need for your home.

    I think it would be interesting to learn more about these other cultures that may seem so different from what we consider “normal”.

    As for the bra’s…can’t help you there. I’ve never had much trouble getting them off one-handed (strapless or not). 😉

Leave a Reply

 
