A Modern Day Love Story

I can’t believe it, but Valentine’s Day is less than a week away.  Love is a tricky little beast.  As a single gal at the age of 25, I’m often puzzled at the “How do you meet someone?” question.  Originally, I thought I would marry my high school sweetheart.  Nope, didn’t happen.  We broke up at the end of college so the collegiate “ring by spring” by him or any other guy from my university didn’t happen.  I entered the professional world *gulp* single.  Let me tell you… I had no idea what I was in for.

The rules of dating have changed over the years.  If we don’t meet the man of our dreams in high school, on the quad or in the workplace, where do we meet him?? Enter Internet dating.  

Many of my friends have dabbled in the Internet dating world as of late. At first, it all seemed so desperate and almost embarrassing. You hear the horror stories of the Craigslist Killer or meeting a guy that looks absolutely nothing like his picture and cannot hold his fork like a big kid much less a conversation. When Internet dating first started, it seemed to be the place desperate women went before they stopped at the pound to pick up their cats. Let me tell you, that has all changed.

The number of Internet daters is greater than I ever would have imagined. It seems almost everyone I know who has been in the workplace for a few years and is still single has tried an online dating site of some kind be it Plenty of Fish, eHarmony or Match. As young professionals, we’re putting a little technology behind the way we meet the love of our life and we aren’t ashamed.

Think about it – everything we do is online. We shop online, we journal online, we play games online, why not date there as well?? It seems to be the fastest way to see who’s available and interested in our area. We are quickly able to screen potential mates and spend less time waiting on a friend of a friend of a friend to pop up. With just a few quick clicks, you can find a whole screen full of eligible, albeit not always what you’re looking for, bachelors.

I’m sure as my friends start getting married, quite a few of their relationships will have started onscreen in a world of virtual gifts, winks and emails. Personally? I’m excited. Don’t get me wrong, a virtual box of chocolate is nothing like the real thing, but I guess the calories are less so there’s always an upside. The point is, the way of the world is changing and that includes how you find love. Embrace it, people. I think online dating is here to stay.

Happy dating!

-Caitlin

~ by caitlinludwig on February 8, 2011.

3 Responses to “A Modern Day Love Story”

  1. I have not tried this yet. I like the idea of being able to screen an individual prior to meeting them. Too bad the online dating site can’t tell you if you’d actually have chemistry. I guess there is some work involved. lol.

  2. I tried Match. I struck out. Hard. I tried again out of good faith and was just unimpressed. I tried EHarmony. As of right now (given, it’s only been 3 months), my and the bf joke that it was the best $150 investment ever. It was an awesome experience. Given, I won’t claim it was flawless. I did meet a guy who managed to misinterpret my profile so far as to assume I was into massive kink and still found people who tried to route their “guided communication” process to just text too quickly. But for the people who use the process and just go for it the way it’s supposed to work, it’s actually a valuable process that seems to work. There’s something to taking yourself out of the equation of choosing, especially if you keep tending to choose wrong, right?

  3. Such a great point, Taylor!! Sometimes Internet dating helps us choose the people we SHOULD be dating rather than the guy we meet at the bar who’s gorgeous but absolutely horrible for us.

    Glad to hear the process has worked for you so far! Best of luck in your relationship!!

Leave a Reply

 
