Snowpocalypse

As I sit here, working from home for fear of the roads, I am watching the snow falling at a steady, but not yet alarming, rate.  This is the calm before the storm.  At 3:00p.m. today, Snowpocalypse 2011 will begin.  With words such as “catastrophic” and “epic” this Snowpocalypse is apparently not playing around.

As my week’s calendar cleared at a rate faster than the Bears/Packers tickets sold out, it seems that everyone has blizzard on the mind!  I can’t blame them.  Facebook is filled with status updates of glorious cooking plans, books people can’t wait to read and the anticipation of sleeping without an alarm.  I’m sure there are some unlucky souls who aren’t able to fully embrace Snowpocalypse due to stores that are open 24 hours or admirable careers like firemen, doctors and nurses but for the rest of us, bring on the snow!!

Snowpocalypse is good for more than school kids. As adults and as Americans, we tend to work, work, work. We feel guilty taking a day off and are constantly plugged in to either our cell phone, lap top or tablet. Events like Snowpocalypse make us finally set down and enjoy the fact that we absolutely can’t do anything.

So here’s to a blizzard every now and then!! Sleep in late. Make great chicken soup. Watch a movie or re-runs of CSI. Who know’s when we’ll be snowed in again. I guess that is one downfall of summer… Sunshine Days just don’t seem to happen nearly as often as snow days!

So, tell me, what are your Snowpocalypse 2011 plans??

-Caitlin

~ by igniterockford on February 1, 2011.

3 Responses to “Snowpocalypse”

  1. Caitlin, I sooo wanted a pulled pork reference 😦 Chicken soup? 😉 I feel like a little kid at Christmas…can we go home yet??? And your yeti cartoon reminds me of last winter, bunking out at the Diduch ranch in Baileyville, watching hours upon hours of Backyardigans, and the characters yelling, “Yeti!Yeti!Yeti!”

  2. My branch is closing at 3:00 today due to inclement weather. I plan to go home and spend time clearing my driveway to try to quell the impending doom that is apparently setting in around that time. After that, I have a lot of homework to do, but plan to also relax in front of the XBOX for a while as well.

    Tomorrow is my day off as well, so I’m looking forward to getting some things done (including R&R). I just pray that the power doesn’t go out, or I might cry.

  3. I’m working from home today. It was either that or use one of my PTO days or work on Saturday. But I guess it’s nice to be working from my couch and wearing pajamas instead of street clothes.

Leave a Reply

 
