The Good Things About Snow (If There Are Any)

I’m just going to say it: I HATE SNOW. I know, I know. I live in Illinois so I’m just going to have to get used to it and get over it. Well, I’ve been in this state for 25 years and I’ve yet to come to terms with it. Every time those little white death flakes hit the ground, a part of me dies. Too dramatic? I think not.

But, as one of my last acts of 2010, I’m going to try to play nice with snow and search for the good in the white fluffy monster. So, here’s my best attempt to list the good things about snow. I figure if I can get on board with this list, the next few months might be a bit easier.

The Good Things About Snow:

1. Snow has the ability to transform the ugly brown ground and the bare trees into a majestic scene resembling that of an ice castle themed prom. Assuming I have nowhere to go, the ice encased trees and glistening snow-covered lawn can be a magical sight. It almost takes your breath away at the pure beauty…. until you step outside. Then the cold takes your breath away.

2. It has the power to cancel school/work. Now, I have yet to have an actual snow day in my professional life but I do remember the joy of snow days in college. I went to a small school but surprisingly, we had more than one snow filled day shutting campus down. We did, however, manage to make it to my (now ex) boyfriend’s house to make a giant pot of chicken noodle soup, play games and drink some wine with friends. (The Kroger down the street did not have a snow day!!) There was no better feeling than a day completely free of obligation that you weren’t counting on. It seemed that time stood still as we were given a precious gift by the University gods that was better than winning the lottery.

3. Little kids love it. There is some joy that comes from seeing kids bundled up from head to toe in snow gear making a lopsided snowman in the front yard. It brings back the time in life when heading out in the cold was fun and the more snow meant the better the sledding hill would be. Today, I don’t own a pair of snow pants (I think they make me look fat) and the cold is just miserable. I’m not sure when it stopped being fun, but I’m guessing somewhere around the time I got a car and learned the joy of scraping my windshield.

4. It’s romantic… in theory. It would be completely wonderful to go ice skating at the Harris Winter Wonderland Ice Trail with a nice snow fall coming down holding hands with the guy you’re dating. It’s romantic until your pants are soaking wet from all the snow and you’ve fallen a million times, you have to scrape the car clean and slide into a ditch on the way home. Now, it is always romantic to sit by the fire and watch the snow fall with a good glass or wine, a good book or a good movie assuming you don’t have to leave the house for the next day or so.

5. It makes me appreciate summer. Never do I miss green grass, blue skies and 80 degrees more than when I’m stuck in a traffic slow down because of snow. I was chatting with a friend from California this weekend and he said that sadly, no one in California appreciates the beautiful weather because they have nothing to compare it to. Around here, we soak up the sun as long as we can because we know that sooner than we would like, Frosty the Snowman will be back… with a vengeance it seems.

So, that’s it. That’s all the good things I can come up with. Perhaps you have a few more to add to the list? In the mean time, I’m going to drive slow, get a shovel and pray for June.

-Caitlin

~ by caitlinludwig on December 21, 2010.

2 Responses to “The Good Things About Snow (If There Are Any)”

  1. Just happened to stumble upon this little blog of your feelings abut snow and I appreciate your attempt to convince me about the “positive” side of snow. I live in Ohio and I hate it…always have always will! Enjoyed your post though and just wanted to let you know!

    🙂

  2. […] in love with Grey’s Anatomy and that’s where it takes place.)  Anyways, since I did a blog post about how much I hate snow (secretly disguised as a post about the good parts of snow), I figured I […]

Leave a Reply

 
