How I Redeemed Myself With a Screwdriver

The feminist movement has gotten a bad rap over the years, but what most people don’t realize is that feminism isn’t about bra burning or man-hating. It’s about independence and equality. With that in mind, I tend to consider myself a pretty independent female who can do pretty much anything a man can do — that is, until situations like the one that arose this week when I was unable to lift a stupid TV stand out of the trunk of my car.

I thought I was doing pretty well because I had gotten the box, which was about 3/4ths my size, into the shopping cart and to the check-out lane, but I found myself in quite the predicament as I stood out in the parking lot freezing my tail off as I tried to lift the box out of the cart and into the trunk of my car. I tried this way and that, but no matter what angle or part of the box I grabbed, I just did not have the arm strength to actually lift it up and out of the cart and then back down into the trunk. (For those wondering how I actually got it into the cart in the first place, it was on a high shelf, so I was able to gingerly slide it down and into the cart).

After a few minutes of this ridiculous display, embarrassment started to set in, and I started to weigh my options. Do I flag someone down in the parking lot to see if they’d be a good Samaritan? Do I wheel the stupid thing back into the store and have them page a dude from the back (cause seriously, if a woman helped me out, I’d be even more mortified)? Luckily ingenuity struck, and I used a series of angles against the weight of the box to slide it not-so-gently into the trunk.

Getting it out of the trunk and into the house? Well … that was even worse. That required actually picking it up and carrying it, which I had to admit was completely impossible. So what was an independent woman like me to do in a situation like this? The exact thing I didn’t want to do: call the boyfriend and ask for help.

Me: I have a dumb dumb dumb dumb question.
BF: That’s a lot of “dumbs.”
Me: (I recount my struggles to get the TV stand into my trunk) So … do you maybe have 5 minutes to stop by and bring it into the house for me?
BF: (jokingly) I have 7 minutes. I’ll be there in 15.

Clearly it wasn’t anything out of the ordinary for me to ask him to help me with the simple task of carrying something. I mean, it wasn’t like I was asking him to tie my shoe laces or brush my teeth. But as he left, I stared shamefacedly at my new nemesis (i.e. the TV stand), which was now sitting in the warmth of my living room, and decided it wasn’t going to get the best of this girl.

So I ripped open that box, laid out each piece, and spent the next 2 1/2 hours with my flathead screwdriver, Phillips head screwdriver (hell yes, my daddy taught me my screwdrivers), and hammer painstakingly putting that TV stand together. After the most frustrating few hours I’ve spent in a long time, I had a complete (and sturdy) TV stand ready for use. And the best part? I put that sucker together without any help at all.

Love and screwing the right way,

Mika

~ by Mika Doyle on December 17, 2010.

7 Responses to “How I Redeemed Myself With a Screwdriver”

  1. I’d probably add that (some) men have the same issue with independence / self-sufficiency. I think I had the exact same story with a dresser. 🙂
    When you got to the part about “ripped open that box, laid out each piece,”, I thought to myself, “OF COURSE! The way to independently handle moving something into the house would be little pieces at a time!” So I’ll try to remember that next time.

    • I thought the same thing, Jared! I thought “Wow, she’s a genius (if not, a little stubborn ;)) to break the moving process into pieces she could handle to bring it inside!”

      Then I realized it was weird for her boyfriend not to show up when he said he would to help, re-read the paragraph, and figured out what she really said.

  2. (That is, “exact” same story up until just before you called the boyfriend…)

    • HAHAHA oh, geez, Jared, I didn’t think about taking it into the house a piece at a time! Although, in my defense, it was freezing cold out, so I wanted to get it inside as quickly as possible.

  3. I’ve been there too many times to count 🙂 I may or may not have thrown things out and bought new ones because I was too embarassed to ask for help…not a recommended course of action. Way to put on your big girl panties, Mika 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
