Healthy Snacking

Eating healthy is hard. But one of the most difficult parts of healthy eating is snacks! I find myself  wanting to snack during the day at my desk or on the weekend, but it has to be healthy. Snacking can either help you stay fit, or it can be an easy way to quickly get you off track. So here are my top 5 snacks that aren’t only healthy but taste amazing!

1. Quaker Rice Snack Cakes – My favorite flavors are the Caramel Drizzle  and the Vanilla Creme Brulee. The Caramel Drizzle come in 90 calorie snack packs and are only 3.5 grams of fat. A service of the Vanilla Creme Brulee  is only 60 calories and no fat! These are both great options when you want something sweet but don’t want to blow your  diet.

2. Reduced-Fat Cheez-It – This snack pack has 160 calories and 5 grams of fat. While this is on the high-end of what I usually like in a snack, it is usually all I need as an afternoon snack.

3. Yogurt – Any will do, but  my favorite is Yoplait light. Who can resist with flavors like Banana Cream Pie, Key Lime Pie, Raspberry Cheesecake, Strawberry Shortcake, and White Chocolate Strawberry?!?! Plus they are fat-free and are low on the calories.

4. Fresh Fruit – Pick  your favorite! Apples, oranges, bananas, kiwi – any will do. Fresh fruit is a great snack and is both delicious and  nutritious. Put them  in snack bags to make it easy to take on-the-go.

5. Yoplait Smoothie – This awesome smoothie snack is found in the frozen section.  The bags come in some great flavors and  contain frozen fruit and frozen yogurt pieces. All you need is a blender and milk and  you have a delicious and healthy  snack. The Strawberry Mango Pineapple is  only 110 calories and 1 gram of fat when using fat-free milk. It’s a great snack in the morning or throw it in a travel mug when you are on the go.

Bonus: On the Go – My job involves travel, and this can be the worst for snacking. There are lots of temptations at fast food restaurants and it can  be hard to snack well. So here are my two favorite fast food snacks.

Fruit-and Yogurt parfait – McDonald’s and Beef -A-Roo both have  amazing parfaits.
Smoothies – Starbucks and  McDonald’s offer healthy smoothies that will fill you up.

~ by Karissa on October 10, 2010.

2 Responses to “Healthy Snacking”

  1. I bought some of those Yoplait Smoothies the other day after I saw your post. It was a really good way to start my day. Thanks for the recommendation!

    • I need to give those a try! I saw them in an ad but wasn’t too sure about them, but now that I’m hearing about them from other people, I want to give them a shot.

Leave a Reply

 
