The Challenge:Eating Healthy

In May I decided that I wanted to change my lifestyle. I wanted to start eating healthier and work out more than one day a week. Over the past 5 months I have been working hard and have lost over 20 pounds, but it hasn’t been easy. As I continue, I find myself becoming increasingly frustrated. Not at myself, but at society’s apathetic attitude toward health.

I have never been one for diets. When I decided to do this, I knew it needed to be a lifestyle change. So I started looking for healthy options at the store. I also started reading websites and cookbooks that took popular or normally bad-for- you foods and created healthy recipes for them. And I am happy to say that after a few months, I was succeeding. I found brands of ice cream and desserts that were delicious but wouldn’t kill my calorie count. I started cooking meals at home and felt good about myself. But I am 24 years old, have a very busy lifestyle, and don’t always have the luxury of cooking at home.

As I started looking at different restaurants to eat at, I began to feel discouraged. All of my favorite places, both fast food and sit-down, were serving foods that were terrible for me! Foods that I thought couldn’t be that bad were actually derailing my success because of hidden calories or fat. I downloaded an application on my Droid so I could check calories and fat in the food at different restaurants, and I quickly realized that if I wanted to go out and eat, it was going to be difficult.

Growing up, fast food sizes were half of what they are now. The small is now the size of a medium, and everything is super sized. Today I was out shopping and decided to go to a popular fast food place to get a pop. I ordered a medium, but when they handed it to me it was huge! In my mind, it was an extra large, not a medium. And instead of adding healthy options to the menu, it seems like the choices just keep getting worse. Don’t get me wrong, I know I put a lot of blame on these restaurants for not taking a healthy route, but when I look around I know why they don’t. People want the unhealthy foods! When we are out to eat, people are sitting there eating the super sized meal or ordering a fried appetizer and then having a dessert. They either don’t know or don’t care that in one meal they are eating all the calories they should have in a day. So I sit here and I wonder if I am the only one who cares. Why can’t we stand up and ask for healthier options? Why does it seem I am the one who cannot go to a restaurant because I choose to eat healthy and they don’t serve anything that fits within my calorie and fat count? I find myself getting angry that our society has just come to accept these unhealthy sizes and options as normal.

So instead of being angry and feeling alone, I want to send out a challenge to all of our readers. First, think of your favorite place to eat.  Then go to their website and look up the nutrition information for your favorite meal. Is it good for you, or is it keeping you from living a healthy lifestyle? Then follow up – if your favorite food is actually good for you, share it!! Let us all know so we can try it:) But if you find out that your favorite food actually contains more calories or fat than you thought was possible, do something about it! Find something else that is much healthier and give it a try. Or leave a comment telling them you want healthier options.

So are you up for the challenge?

~ by Karissa on October 3, 2010.

2 Responses to “The Challenge:Eating Healthy”

  1. Love this post, Karissa! I actually just made this commitment to myself last week and hope to gradually make this into a complete lifestyle change. My hope is for a healthier body, more energy, and positive change in mood. I think it would be great if you shared some of your tips on how you’re accomplishing this locally, like which restaurants you’ve found to offer better food choices or what resources you’ve found helpful to help you maintain a healthier lifestyle. I noticed IHOP has added some healthier food options in their “For Me” menu items, but I don’t know enough about hidden fats and stuff to know if it’s as healthy as they say it is.

  2. Dude! 20 pounds! I guess that Droid app. to track calories/fat of different foods really works, because my brother-in-law also uses it and lost 35 pounds this Summer (he also started playing volleyball each week, and basketball daily). You two could definitely teach me a thing or two about commitment!

Leave a Reply

 
