Show That Pride!

This past weekend, I volunteered at Greenwich Art Fair (which was fantastic by the way! I highly recommend checking it out next year!). I spent a lovely afternoon in the Wine and Coffee tent helping people grab a beverage while they checked out the local art! Volunteering is a fantastic way to spend some time. Not only are you helping out an organization in need, you also get a lot back!! Beyond having fun and attending events you may not normally get to attend, you also have the chance to network with people who you may not normally have access to. The more you volunteer, the more VIPs you meet! You never know what great opportunity you might hear about while volunteering…

But, I digress. Anyways, while pouring some tasty wine for a lady on Saturday we got to talking about all the great changes Rockford is experiencing right now. She mentioned the happenings downtown such as the City Market, Friday Night Flicks and more. Then, she said something that stuck with me.

She simply said, “You know? I’m actually starting to be kind of proud of Rockford! It’s been a long time coming but I’m so excited to finally be able to say that!” I knew exactly what she meant. Rockford has seen some dark days. There have been times when cooperation wasn’t on the forefront and growth and progress weren’t really heading in the direction they needed to be. But, in recent times, Rockford seems to have taken a turn for the better! We have a way to go on some of our initiatives but the motivation, inspiration and drive is there!

But, it starts with us. The best medicine for Rockford is a little love from its people. Show your Rockford pride! You are here for a reason after all. This is your home – where you live, work, learn and play!! Let’s be proud of all that we have to offer and even all that is to come! Together, our positive attitudes will go a long way in making a difference.

So, I’ll start. I’m proud of all of the great opportunities Rockford has for young professionals to stand up and make a difference. I’m proud of our art scene including the award-winning Coronado Theatre. I’m proud of the amazing fries from Beef-a-Roo. I’m proud to call Rockford home.

Let’s hear it IGNITE members (and non members too!!)!! Show your Rockford Pride!!! What part of Rockford are you proud of??

-Caitlin

~ by igniterockford on September 21, 2010.

2 Responses to “Show That Pride!”

  1. I’m proud of its people working so hard for change – it may be slow in coming, but it IS changing for the better. Progress is good…let’s continue to catch up 🙂

  2. I too am proud of how the Rockford community has rallied together for positive change over the last couple of years. I have chosen Rockford as my home because it’s got that small town feel with some neat big city amenities. I believe in Rockford and am excited to see what it yet to come!

Leave a Reply

 
