Ain’t Nobody Gonna Argue with the Butt Flu.

Have you ever found yourself a bit over committed? On too many boards/committees, too many projects, too many commitments? A schedule so crazy that you cringe every time you open your over flowing planner? I feel your pain.

Frequently, I find my calendar chalked full of activities – some for work, some for pleasure, some for others and some because I have to. I get so busy and feel like I should constantly be helping with all these great ideas that I find myself burnt out and at a loss for personal time. At that point, everything starts to suffer and I begin to resemble a hermit crab whenever possible. Basically, this isn’t good for anyone. So, how do I change my overcommiting ways?? Easy answer: The Butt Flu.

Let me explain. One day, when I was working at my first job out of college, I had a lot on my plate. I was dreading some sort of meeting or function (who knows what it was…) and I was talking with a co-worker about how much I did NOT want to go. He looked me in the eye and said, “Tell them you’ve got the butt flu. Ain’t nobody gonna argue with the butt flu.” Brilliant.

Okay, well, maybe not the most ethical or graceful way to get out of an obligation, but he’s right – no one’s gonna argue with that excuse. As hilarious as it is and as frequently as I’m still tempted to use the excuse, I decided that if I was resorting to the butt flu, I may be taking on too much. Perhaps it was time to learn how to tactfully say no to obligations or invitations I was not truly interested in or would not have time to fully commit to. I know I’m not the only person in this boat so here are a few tips that I’m still trying to master on the fine art of saying “No!”

1. Be graceful. No matter what. It doesn’t help if you say “Eek. I wouldn’t come to your party if it was the last shindig of all time.” Remember feelings count. Just be kind.

2. When some one asks you to commit yourself to a project or a board, say thank you but I’d like a day or two to think about it. If it sounds like a good idea now, make sure it sounds like a good idea tomorrow. The opportunity more than likely isn’t going anywhere. If you wake up with a feeling of a tight throat and nausea about the project, you’ll be glad you gave it a day. Remember to follow-up regardless.

3. Say thank you for the opportunity/offer but I am not able to fully dedicated myself to the project at this time due to previous obligations so I respectfully decline. I do appreciate you thinking of me. I would be happy to recommend someone who may fit what you’re looking for if you like.

Like I said, I’m still trying to master these tips. I know there are plenty more out there but this is just a start. Remember to put yourself first every now and then and only commit yourself to what you can do well. Being a part of every project, committee and board in town isn’t worth anything if you’re constantly missing deadlines, unable to fully participate or have your mind constantly elsewhere.

But, when all else fails… remember my friend’s words of wisdom… “Ain’t nobody gonna argue with the butt flu.”

-Caitlin

~ by igniterockford on September 14, 2010.

One Response to “Ain’t Nobody Gonna Argue with the Butt Flu.”

  1. I LOVE it! Classic 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
