Flying With Nuns

A few years ago, my family and I went to Myrtle Beach, SC. We left from the Rockford Airport which was a lovely and relaxing way to travel. Well, relaxing for every one but me. I am DEATHLY afraid of flying. I understand that flying is safer than driving in a car and that I’m in good hands up there in the air, but it doesn’t matter – I’m terrified. As soon as I stepped on the plane, my heart rate shot through the roof, I could barely breathe and I thought I might pass out at any second. I became completely irrational and couldn’t think straight. (By the way, this was after I took TWO Fear of Flying pills.)

I sat down in my seat, clutching the armrests as if they would save me in case of a crash and held on. Nothing can calm me down – no words, no movies, no sleeping. I’m a hot mess for practically the entire time. (I’m sure you’re really anxious to travel with me, eh??). People ask me why I’m so scared and I know exactly why – because I think about it far too much. To me, it doesn’t make any sense that flying works and therefore, if something goes wrong, I’ll have no control over what to do next. The lack of control is what I hate about flying and freaks me out so much. But! I’ve got a cure….

I want to fly with a pack of nuns. (A pack of nuns?? A school of nuns?? A gaggle of nuns??) For some reason, when I think about flying, the lack of control doesn’t bother me if there’s a whole group of nuns flying along with me. I guess I figure God wouldn’t take out an entire plane of nuns because what good would that do?? Does this logic make any sense?? Nope. None at all. But…. it makes me feel so much better. Which leads me to the real point of this post… Mind over matter is a powerful thing.

If the fears are just in our head, maybe the solutions are there as well. For me, flying with nuns solves the problem of my fear of flying (really, just flying with one nun would probably solve the fear). Silly as it may be, I solved my problem. Now granted, I’m forced to leave my solution up to fate because you can’t really rent a nun to take with you on a plane. Unless I find a conference a bunch of nuns are flying to, the chance of having a nun on my plane I feel is the same as having a celebrity on board…. which is low…. But never the less, I used my mind to solve the problem.

Sometimes the answers are within us and sometimes they are absolutely ridiculous but really, so much of life is mind over matter that we can’t ignore it. I truly believe that I will be a pretty calm traveler if you sit me next to a nun. Mind over matter. If you convince yourself of something, you can probably accomplish it. This is true of overcoming fears, getting through a diet or even battling sickness. Never underestimate the power of positive thinking. In the same light, never underestimate the power of negative thinking either. They say you should never go in to surgery fearing the worst but rather, you should face it with the confidence that you’ll have the best possible outcome.

Take this surgery thought and apply it to the rest of your life. Instead of getting worked up over an upcoming deadline, plan ahead and tell yourself you can do it. Next time you’re worried about finances, tell yourself you’ll get through it and start on a plan. When you’re heading into that job interview, tell yourself that you are a great candidate for this position and that you are a confident, strong worker. Mind over matter. It’s a powerful thing…. Just like nuns on a plane.

-Caitlin

~ by caitlinludwig on August 31, 2010.

3 Responses to “Flying With Nuns”

  1. I guess you could trying becoming a nun… Hmm.

  2. Two thoughts – consider what “nun” means. I know I would be nun too good. Oh sorry.

  3. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by IGNITE Rockford, IGNITE Rockford. IGNITE Rockford said: Flying With Nuns: http://wp.me/pOmxk-eH […]

Leave a Reply

 
