Facebook…check-ins?

Earlier this summer, I wrote an entry (Location, Location, Location!) about the trend of “checking in” and sharing your location via social media.

The big news today is that Facebook has finally, officially, entered the fray of location sharing with it’s Facebook Places.  Now, you can check in to locations using the iPhone Facebook app or the touch.facebook.com mobile site. Your checkins can be shared via your newsfeed with your Facebook friends, and you can “tag” the friends who are out with you. Mashable already has a Field Guide  for using Facebook Places up on their site with more details.

There’s a lot of excitement around this news. It will be interesting to see how it works out. My guess is you’ll see a lot of Places posts pop up on your news feed very soon, as more people begin sharing their locations now that there’s easier access (no need to sign up for a 3rd party app like Foursquare or Gowalla) and a known entity of people (your Facebook friends only is the default setting) with whom they’re sharing. Will it last? Let’s check back in a month and see how it’s going…

Two questions for you:
1. Do you access Facebook from your mobile phone?
2. Are you more likely to try sharing your location within the confines of Facebook and your friend circle?

Cheers!
Anthea

~ by Anthea on August 19, 2010.

3 Responses to “Facebook…check-ins?”

  1. Well this is an interesting new development! I don’t have a smartphone, but when I did, I definitely accessed Facebook and Twitter from my phone. If I still had a smartphone, I would probably start using the new location tool on Facebook since it seems more secure than sites like Foursquare (though with Facebook’s recent security issues — who knows!). I’m sure this is a totally false sense of security, but I just feel much more comfortable on Facebook than I do on other social media sites because I’ve been able to customize my security settings so much more.

  2. I do have a smart phone and I dabble with Foursquare every now and then but I don’t know about the whole Facebook part of it. I don’t know if I constantly want my friends to know where I am at. Usually, the people that need to know, do. That being said, Facebook has a way of sucking me in so give it a week and I may be singing a different tune.

    -Caitlin

  3. Here’s an interesting follow-up: Mashable posted an article about how Foursquare had a record number of sign-ups after Facebook launched the Places app. Here’s a link to the article: http://mashable.com/2010/08/20/foursquare-new-users-record/

Leave a Reply

 
