Look At All The People…

A few weeks ago I found myself with a friend in the car driving to Chicago. As we sped along I-90, I was in the passenger’s seat enjoying the ride. Suddenly, I was posed with a question from my fellow rider: “Do you always do that?” Um, what? As far as I knew, I was peacefully siting enjoying the scenery. He could tell I was clueless to what he was referring to, so he went on: “You always look into the windows of the cars passing by. You look until you can’t see them anymore and then you move on to the next.” Oh. Hmm. That’s noticeable? Well, guilty as charged. My name’s Caitlin and I am a people watcher.

People watching is probably one of my absolute favorite past times. My glancing goes far behind car windows – at the mall, at the gym, at the movies. Basically, if I’m awake, I’m watching. Now, don’t get me wrong. I’m not a creepy people watcher; I just like to observe. People make me laugh. They are constantly doing hilarious things that if you tune in only to yourself, you might miss.

People watching teaches some valuable lessons as well as being extremely entertaining. Observation is a key to survival these days. So often our lives are filled with such sensory overload that we forget that we really just need to open our eyes and look around. Put your cell phone away and just observe the world around you. I guarantee you at times you’ll laugh out loud. Other times, you may be moved to tears at the pure beauty you find. Even yet, you might be inspired or come up with a unique thought or new way to look at things simple because you took the time to observe the world around you.

Now, don’t get me wrong. I don’t advocate being creepy. You should remember you manners – don’t stare because it’s rude. Don’t interrupt a private moment. Maintain respect of those around at all times. But, I do advocate checking out your surroundings next time you find yourself in the presence of others with nothing to do. Sit back, relax and people watch!!

-Caitlin

~ by caitlinludwig on August 10, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
