Tis Merely A Pinprick…

This morning I had my blood drawn.

Now, to the average, reasonable person over the age of about 12, this wouldn’t seem like a big deal.  For me?  Not the case.  Having my blood drawn is basically one of the most traumatic experiences you can put me through.  Really, I’m horrible at anything medical.  Talk about your surgery from last summer and my legs will go numb.  Tell me about the time your kid brother broke his head open and blood was gushing every where and I might faint.  I become light headed, my legs give out and I basically lose any ability to breathe or speak correctly.  I can’t control it even though I know it’s unreasonable.

I mentioned to the guy that set me up with this physical that I almost died from the experience (I may also be what you might call over dramatic…) and his response?  “Tis merely a pinprick!”  A PINPRICK??  They took my BLOOD!!!  Two whole vials!!  Do you have any idea how long it took me to make that??  Well, me either, but I’m guessing a while.  A pinprick… geez…. it’s obviously so much more….

Or is it? According to the mark on my arm, he was right – it WAS only a pinprick but the emotional scaring was far deeper.  On my way to work (while not using my left arm mostly because I had barely regained feeling from the emotional trauma) I thought about all of the other “pinpricks” in life – rejection from a cute guy, being picked last in gym class, hearing your work could have been improved and more.  Do these instances make or break us?  No.  But they do hurt…

But pinpricks in life can make us stronger.  Pinpricks leave us with the opportunity to make change, grow as a person or learn a lesson.  They are hardly ever fun but if we never felt a pinprick, we might really miss the good times in life.  Without the bad to compare it to, how can you really measure the good?  The pinpricks in life are what make us who we are today.  As much as I hate them, I tend to look back at the pinpricks of life and realize that they happened for a reason.  I learned something and was able to grow as a person in a way that I wasn’t able to without the prick.  Yes, my arm may hurt and I may be a bit bruised, but I can make it through.  After all, what doesn’t kill us only makes us stronger.

So next time you’re faced with a needle, face it and remember… “tis merely a pinprick!”

-Caitlin

~ by caitlinludwig on June 29, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
