A Social Introduction

Ever since Facebook opened up its doors to the world outside of the limited arena of .edu email addresses, social networking has an ever increasing presence in the lives of most (if not all!) of us. Sites like Twitter, LinkedIn, Flickr, YouTube, and Yelp connect us not only to our friends, but our families, our business acquaintances, and people we used to know lifetimes ago (who doesn’t have a Facebook friend or two they haven’t seen since middle school?!).

For the sake of introduction, I’m Anthea, and I’m a self-professed social media junkie. I have the nerd cred of being the first person from my high school class on Facebook, and was even asked to be a bridesmaid by a great friend I met years ago through my blog! Prior to returning to Rockford at the beginning of the year, I was working  as a social media contractor for a museum in Texas. I love social media for it’s ability to connect us to people near and far, diverse and similar, and for it’s flexibility and ease of sharing information.

Trending Topics is the title for this column, which was borrowed shamelessly from Twitter. I’ll be here every Thursday with some thoughts, experiences, challenges, or lessons for these many tools and their impact on our lives. If you have a topic you’d like to discuss, please leave a comment. A blog without feedback is not much more than an essay, and I prefer to think I’ve left those behind with my grad school work in Texas!

Until next Thursday, take care! And, leave a comment, or send me a tweet at @AntheaHalsey if you’re so inclined!

Cheers!
Anthea

~ by Anthea on June 10, 2010.

3 Responses to “A Social Introduction”

  1. In the world of social media, it can be easy to get overwhelmed! Do you use each site individually or do you use a platform to access all of your sites at one time? What’s your all time FAVORITE social media outlet??

    • Thanks for your comment, Caitlin! I think a “tools” post is a great idea, so expect to see that soon!

      As far as my favorite site? It may seem strange, but I really enjoy Flickr. I love sharing my photos and seeing how other people capture the world around them. Flickr has done some really neat projects with museums to help identify works in their collections or get people involved in other ways. The Met Museum even hosted a Flickr photo contest of photos taken in the museum, and the winners were featured on ads all over the city! Neat stuff.

  2. Personally,I like Facebook the best. I find it far easier to interact with my friends, and, recent privacy snafus aside, has better options when it comes to privacy. It’s the only social media site I’ve really been able to understand and use on a daily basis. I tried Twitter for a short period of time, but it creeped me out. I didn’t understand why total strangers were following my tweets. It made me feel like I was being cyber-stalked! haha

Leave a Reply

 
