2010 FIFA World Cup

This month, the largest sporting event in the world will take place in South Africa.  While many Americans don’t follow or play soccer, the rest of the world does and acknowledges it as football.  Below is a little background on the worlds most popular sport on the worlds largest sport scene, the FIFA World Cup!

The Fédération Internationale de Football Association (FIFA) world Cup is an international football  competition consisting of 32 football teams competing for the World Cup title in venues within various host countries. The 2010 FIFA World Cup will be the culmination of a qualification process that began in August 2007 and involved 204 of the 208 FIFA national teams. As such, it matches the 2008 Summer Olympics as the sports event with the most competing nations.

The World Cup takes place every four years since the first tournament in 1930, except in 1942 and 1946 when it was not held due to World War II.

During the 18 tournaments that have been held, seven nations have won the title. Brazil has won the World Cup a record five times, and they are the only team to have played in every tournament. Italy, the current champions, have won four titles, and Germany are next with three titles. The other former champions are Uruguay, and Argentina, with two titles each, and England and France, with one title each.

The first two World Cup matches took place simultaneously on 13 July 1930, and were won by France and USA, who defeated Mexico 4–1 and Belgium 3–0 respectively. The first goal in World Cup history was scored by Lucien Laurent of France. In the final, Uruguay defeated Argentina 4–2 in front of a crowd of 93,000 people in Montevideo, and in doing so became the first nation to win the World Cup

For 2010, the World Cup tournament consists of 32 teams separated into 8 groups of four (Group A through H).  Each of the top 8 teams (the top 7 teams and the host country team) are placed in the top position of a group.  The top teams for this year’s World Cup are Brazil, Spain, Netherlands, Italy, Germany, Argentina, and England with South Africa being the host country team.  Most experts are predicting Brazil to win the tournament.

The FIFA World Cup is the most widely viewed sporting event in the world. An estimated 715.1 million people watched the final match of the 2006 World Cup held in Germany. This year, for 2010 the FIFA World Cup will be held between June 11th and July 11th in South Africa.  Ten football venues, spread across all of South Africa (Cape Town, Johannesburg (2), Durban, Pretoria, Port Elizabeth,  Bloemfontein, Polokwane, Rustenburg, and Nelspruit) will be used for the World Cup games.  The 2014 World Cup will be held in Brazil. A record 204 nations entered qualification for the 2010 FIFA World Cup.

Listed below is a bracket of all eight Groups.

– Darold Ingram


~ by daroldingram on June 9, 2010.

One Response to “2010 FIFA World Cup”

  1. Great post!! I never knew that the World Cup was only played every 4 years! Apparently, I’m way out of touch!!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: